Race Date

Sun 23 Oct 2016


Young Guns Grab 2009 Billycart Classic

2009 Champions: Sam Barrington and Nathan Madden

2009 Champions: Sam Barrington and Nathan Madden

BILLYCART racing is in their blood and now Nathan Madden and Sam Barrington have joined an illustrious roll-call of names as the best billycart racers of the year. Aboard Loose Cannon, the young guns finished with a time of 6:34 to become the 2009 Beechwood Billycart Classic champions.

In one of the closest races in the event’s 30 year history the schoolmates beat race favourites Luke Cantrell and Paul Kucera in What Tha? by just three seconds and showed that the future of the classic is in good hands.

Meanwhile Dark Horse‘s Stephen and Bob Johnson rounded out the top three places with a time of 6:39.

Spokesperson for the organisers, Jeff Rogers was elated with the success of the classic.

“Even with the threat of rain the crowd was as big as any we’ve had,” he said. “The junior race was great and everyone really enjoyed themselves. It’s such a big day and everyone involved in the event worked tirelessly to put on a fantastic day.”

Barrington and Madden, both 17, pushed hard to the finish line and became two of the youngest winners in the history of the race.

As with all classics there are some great stories that come out of the race including Barry Philpott who at close to 80 years, was the oldest competitor down the hill.

Mr Rogers said the thrill of the race was what kept competitors and spectators coming back. “There are always some classic yarns that come out of the race,” he said. “Having Barry race, and young Sam and Nathan taking the title shows how great the event is.”

Reprinted with the kind permission of the Wauchope Gazette

See also: Full 2009 Results2009 PhotosBeechwood Billycart Classic Course

Be Sociable, Share!

1 comment to Young Guns Grab 2009 Race

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>