Race Date

Sun 23 Oct 2016


Clarke & Gill Power To Glory In 2001

Jono Clarke and Ben Gill combined their collective skills to claim the 2001 22nd annual M & S Offset Billycart Classic at Beechwood yesterday. The pair, in cart number two, recorded a brilliant time of 6.54 to win the event from Peter Horton and Luke Barker, in cart number five.

Horton and Barker chalked up a time of 7.96 – .23 seconds ahead of third placegetters Allan Lewis and Phil Saville. Peter Reynolds and James Flanagan, who placed fourth overall, took out the first veteran and first four-wheeler classes.

Overall winners Clarke and Gill also received the prize for best presented cart.

Most novel cart was presented to Gary Butler and Lola Butler while Ben Williams and Brent Shaw, who placed fifth overall, were the youngest crew in the race.

The least desired category, the last cart to finish, was won by Glen Burn and Jonathon Elphick in a time of 15.04 – 8.10 seconds behind Clarke and Gill.

Market stalls, chainsaw races, a pie-eating competition, Harley rides and line dancing displays, as well as music supplied by the Tamworth Country Music Band and Sally-Anne Whitten Band, ensured the day was another success, with proceeds assisting the Wauchope-Bonny Hills Surf Life Saving Club.

Offical results from the 22nd annual M and S Offset Beechwood Billycart Classic: first, Jono Clark/Ben Gill, 6.54; second, Peter Horton/Luke Barker, 7.96; third, Allan Lewis/Phil Saville, 8.19; fourth, Peter Reynolds/James Flanagan, 8.25; fifth, Ben Williams/Brent Shaw, 8.33; sixth, Brad Maggs/Michael Cole, 8.86; seventh, David Scott/Michael Ebbs, 9.84; eighth, Gary Butler/Lola Butler, 12.81; ninth, Glen Burn/Jonathon Elphick, 15.04.

Reprinted with the kind permission of the Port Macquarie News

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>